Follow

Dashboard Overview

Overview

Welcome to the Dashboard! The Dashboard will be the main focus of most users. Besides Schedule, the Dashboard will have everything you will need to set up a capture and go. In this article you will learn about the different parts that make up the Dashboard, and what you can do with them.

STATUS BAR

Located at the top of the Dashboard page the Status Bar. This section of the Dashboard will show you what the system is currently doing. The “status bar” has four states: “System Idle”, "Starting Capture", “Capture In Progress”, and , "Publishing Capture"

 

Idle mode: the CaptureCastTM Pro  is not processing any video and is ready for a capture.

unit_status_2.1.png

Starting Capture: The unit is starting a capture and is going from "System Idle" to "Capture in Progress".

 

While a capture is in progress, standard information such as Title and Time Elapsed will be shown. Three buttons are also displayed: Live Preview, Pause, Stop. As well as a Peak Programme Meter (PPM)

  • Pause allows you to temporarily stop the capture and pick it up at a later point in time.

  • Stop completes the capture and starts the publishing processes to the specified publishing sources.

  • Live Preview allows you to actively view the video as the capture is in progress.

Note: The quality of the live preview is not the same quality as the finished product.

Note: That audio is currently unable to be heard during the preview.

Screen_Shot_2014-10-22_at_4.03.53_PM.png

 

When using live preview you will be able to view the mixed source as well as each source independently of each other. Of course the sources must be selected as "Source copies" in the template phase for this option to appear.

unit_status_2.png

Publishing Capture: The System is currently publishing the Capture, you are still able to start another capture in this time.

UPCOMING SCHEDULED CAPTURES

 

Located directly below the “Status Bar”, the Upcoming Scheduled Captures section  displays the next 10 captures that are scheduled to take place.

By clicking on the cog at the far right of each capture you will be able to edit/delete templates and events. We will discuss the functionality of these options in later sections (template and schedule).

 

LATEST CAPTURES

 

The Latest Captures section will show the last ten captures. Each capture will be displayed with capture title, presenter, and the date it was captured.

To the right of the capture date, there is a cog. Click on this icon and you will see a small menu of options. These are the exact same options given to you in the Manage page.

 

  • Preview: you can view the capture.

*Note: there will be audio in this preview as opposed to the Live Preview of the Status

Bar

  • Edit: you are able to edit information about the capture, such as the capture title, speakers, and also the video segmentation and “Optical Character Recognition” (OCR) information, and assets

  • Republish: will bring up the publishing information window, and allow you to publish the capture to the selection of publishing sources such as YouTube, Kaltura, or Mediacore etc.

  • Download: allows you to download select sources  to the computer you are using.

  • Download All: Downloads all captured video sources at once. (must have redundant sources enabled)

  • Delete: will delete the capture

The next three actions are will only be available if you have set them to visible in the settings page.  They are generally unused by the general public and mostly used for error hunting by our support staff.

  • Visualize: Allows you see the graph that is created as the capture process takes place

  • Analyze Media:  Selecting  this option will allow you to see detailed information about each file.

  • Download Logs:  This option will be explained in much more detailed in the settings section but for now you should know that this option downloads a play by play of what is happening on your unit during that capture.

 

QUICK CAPTURES

Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 9.55.10 AM.png

The Quick Capture is a great tool that will allow you to quickly begin a capture at any given moment. If there are no current captures, and you need to quickly begin a capture, all you need to do is enter a title , and  select a template from the drop down menu. If no title was chosen, then a default title will be generated using the date,time and name of unit.

i.e. Manual capture for Demo Unit on March 11, 2014 16:30:43 for a unit named “Demo Unit

  • Once you have chosen the template and name, simply click the Start Capture button, and the capture will begin.

*Note: Quick Captures will not appear on your Calendar page but will appear on the latest captures section.  

  • If the Quick Capture would collide with the start of scheduled capture, the Quick Capture will stop and yield to the scheduled capture.

 

NEXT CAPTURE

 

Screen_Shot_2014-03-13_at_12.41.13_PM.png

Under the Quick Capture section, if you have scheduled captures the Next Capture section will pop up.

 If you click Actions these will appear

  • Start Capture: Starts the next scheduled capture at this very moment regardless of the actual scheduled start time.

  • Edit Template: Allows you to edit the template being used in this capture

*Warning: When editing a template it edits the template globally not just for this capture.

  • Test Template: Run a quick 10sec capture using this template. Unit must be in idle state to use.

  • Edit Event: Edit the scheduled capture here instead of through the schedule page

  • Delay Event: Push back an event and all events its conflicts with.

  • Bump Event: Set this event to start earlier than the pre-scheduled time.

 

SYSTEM STATUS

Screen_Shot_2014-03-13_at_12.59.37_PM.png

At the bottom right of the Dashboard, you have the System Status section. This a small table that displays the specifics of the Cattura CaptureCastTM Pro. It shows you the IP (internet protocol) addresses, internet connection status , and the amount of storage space available.

When you have reached the 95% mark in storage the “Start Capture” button will become unusable and a notification will appear. Purge policies ( Settings Section) can be set so that this block never occurs.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.